Pac-12 admits missed call on dunk

  • Andy Katz [ARCHIVE]
  • ESPN.com | February 17, 2014

The Pac-12 acknowledged Sunday night that the officials "missed the call" and should have assessed a technical foul on Arizona State's Jahii Carson for hanging on the rim with 0.5 seconds left after a dunk cemented the Sun Devils' 69-66 double-overtime upset of No. 2 Arizona on Friday night in Tempe.

A Pac-12 conference official told ESPN.com on Sunday night that the officials handed in their standard review of the game and conceded that a call should have been made on the play. The conference official said coordinator of officials Bobby Dibler asks for a review of each game and the results of the report came from standard operating procedure.

Jahii Carson
Ralph Freso/Getty ImagesPac-12 officials say Jahii Carson should have received a technical foul for hanging on the rim Friday.

Carson dunked at the other end after teammate Jordan Bachynski blocked an attempted game-winning shot by Arizona's T.J. McConnell with 5.2 seconds left. Carson hung on the rim and pulled himself up in a chin-up on the dunk. ASU's Jonathan Gilling was underneath Carson initially but was clear of Carson -- as seen on the video highlight -- when the junior point guard was swinging from the rim.

The NCAA rulebook cites Section 4 Class B technical infractions Article 1, letter f, which states that "Grasping either basket in an excessive, emphatic manner during the officials' jurisdiction when the player is not, in the judgment of an official, trying to prevent an obvious injury to self or others" results in a technical.

The conference said that game officials were correct in not assessing a technical on Arizona State for students, staff and bench players running on the court with 0.5 seconds remaining.

In a statement, the Pac-12 said: "Following the last made basketball by Arizona State in the second overtime, the officials stopped the game to refer to the monitor to accurately determine the proper amount of time that should be placed on the game clock. Therefore, with the game stopped, the fans and team followers who rushed the floor did not create a delay that interfered with play. The NCAA basketball playing rules state that when the delay does not interfere with play, it shall be ignored."

The Arizona State incident wasn't the only botched call of the weekend. The ACC on Sunday acknowledged that officials failed to change the possession arrow in the second half of Saturday's Maryland-Duke game.

Tell us what you think!

Take Survey Now » No Thanks »