• Parise angry over disallowed goal

  • By Mike Mazzeo | November 26, 2011 7:36:29 PM PST

Zach Parise is one of the calmest players you’ll ever meet.

But after the Devils’ 3-2 loss to the Islanders on Saturday afternoon, the superstar left winger was anything but calm. He was angry. Very angry.

Parise thought he scored with a second remaining in regulation to tie the game at 3. But the war room in Toronto disallowed the tally, ruling that Parise kicked the puck into the net as he was whacking at it in front.

Upon hearing of the reversed call -- originally, the officials had ruled it a good goal -- Parise slammed his stick on the boards near the Devils’ bench and broke it.

“It definitely hit my skate but is that a kicking motion? I definitely don't think it was,” Parise said after the game. “Of course I was angry and then they make the wrong call.”

Toronto disagreed. Here’s the statement they sent out regarding the ruling.

At 19:59 of the third period in the Devils/Islanders game, video review used the overhead angle and the side camera to determine that Devils forward Zach Parise used his right skate to propel the puck into the net. According to rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net". No Goal New Jersey.


Tell us what you think!

Take Survey Now » No Thanks »